Posted in animals, audiobooks, authors, autobiography, bloggers, book covers, book review, books, commentary, covers, digital reads, entertainment, fellow readers, funnies, goodreads.com, humor, images, library lends, life, memoir, mini-review, non-fiction, opinion, project audiobook, psychology, reading, reading challenge, relationships, thoughts, three-star reads, updates, winter reads, writers

2-minute book review: “Furiously Happy” by Jenny Lawson (audiobook)

Rory the Raccoon is “Furiously Happy” on the cover of Jenny Lawson’s book

2-minute book review:

How can anyone prepare for their first Jenny Lawson experience?! I thought it would be a “quirky” read. I was so naive! I thought some parts were incredibly obnoxious; the 3 stars are for her straight-from-the-heart words about her extreme mental illness. Those honest “I’m bat-shit crazy” sections were priceless and worth the cost of admission. I’m going to try her first book soon, so don’t worry: I’m not scarred for life! When all else fails, WAVE YOUR CRAZY FLAG! Jenny does–and she makes it kinda funny. Listen on audiobook or you’re REALLY missing out!

3/5 ⭐️ ya’ll

PICK UP THIS BOOK IF: you enjoy laughing at extremely inappropriate life stuff and other peoples’ suffering

AVOID THIS BOOK IF: you don’t like bat-shit crazy rambling nonsense and/or books about severe mental illness…because that’s very much what this book is–which isn’t to say it doesn’t have its redeeming qualities to those who can appreciate the weirdness

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/23848559-furiously-happy

2 thoughts on “2-minute book review: “Furiously Happy” by Jenny Lawson (audiobook)

  1. This sounds like such a strange book! I’m not sure that I’d be a fan, but i can definitely see how it works. Also, I love this style of doing a quick mini review, it’s such a good idea 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s a strange book indeed! There’s even a disclaimer by the author in the beginning. Lol. But it works—for the open-minded readers among us! Will you try it on audiobook? That’s probably the best way to enjoy it.

      I’m always changing up the style of my reviews. I get bored easily with old formats. I’d love to dig deeper and write longer, more detailed reviews but just don’t have time right now. Thank you for taking the time to read this one! I appreciate your kind words 😊

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment