books · currently reading · fiction · in progress · library loot · novels · stacks · TBR · traffic thursdays · updates

Update and Traffic Thursdays

*sigh* Almost the end of July ALREADY?!? What the hell!

last-days-of-summer-2000I have a love/hate relationship with summer in the South. While I’m looking forward to much cooler temperatures and the end of this godawful heat, I join the ranks of millions sad to see the long, hazy days of summer rush by so quickly. Although summer officially began about a month ago, it’s been summer here in Alabama for at least three months now! How’s everyone beating the heat so far? Just staying inside in front of the air conditioner? Taking thorough dips in a swimming pool every so often? Just sweating it out and enjoying it anyway, knowing that (like everything else in this life) it’s only temporary? Just curious. I’m here, sweating it out, looking forward to each passing day that brings me closer to August and the cooler (ok, not by much!) reality of Michigan! Trip planned, tickets bought, now I just need to figure out the accompanying readage! (Always the hardest part…)

I’ve been borderline neglectful of the blog lately and I am here to make small amends. Update’s in the bag, and here’s another Traffic Thursdays, to be followed almost immediately with a book review! (I know, it’s been soooo long!) Still basically up to my eyeballs in books, although I’ve made some small progress since last Traffic post. This is what I’m currently reading, what I’ve recently finished, and longing to read soon!

  • Confessions, Kanae Minato, 240 pages, Genre(s): mystery, suspense, drama, Interest Level: 9/10, as it’s been pretty amazing from the very first chapter and each chapter provides a very shocking plot twist! Each chapter contains a horrifying confession, it’s wonderful! You must read it and get thoroughly creeped out with me! Hope to Finish: this weekend, at the latest!
  • Lolita, Vladimir Nabokov, 317 pages, Genre(s): drama, romance, Interest Level: 7/10 at the moment, as it’s not my first time reading it. However, I haven’t read it since high school (10 years ago now) and since I’ve picked it up recently I’ve been newly amazed at the poetically beautiful writing. It’s not surprisingly that it feels like I’m experiencing it for the first time, as I was too young first time around to really appreciate it for the work of beauty it is. No matter your opinions and feelings on the subject matter itself, you have to admit the writing is sensually beautiful! Look forward to reading other fictiontitles by Nabokov, just haven’t made much progress in this direction yet. Hope to Finish: in the next month or so, not in a rush to gulp this one down, the writing is of such quality that I rather feel like slowly digesting in order to avoid book indigestion! (Plus, I’ve seen the 1997 movie so many times that I feel I’m going to tire out if I push to finish it too soon.)
  • Revival, Stephen King, 405 pages, Genre(s): mystery, suspense, thriller, Interest Level: dropped down to about 4/10 and I haven’t picked it up in several weeks. Still want to read it though, as I’ve determined to finish ANY and ALL Stephen King books. The book itself isn’t that astounding at this point (page 91), but that doesn’t mean it won’t get better. (The curse of wanting to finish books and being afraid of a DNF.) Mostly, I think I’ve just determined that his latest Finders Keepers (Bill Hodges Trilogy #2) is probably going to be more my style, as I really enjoyed Mr. Mercedes (Bill Hodges Trilogy #1) so maybe I’ll get through Revival just to keep up the Stephen King momentum. Not sure, that’s the beauty and freedom of reading! Hope to Finish: no idea!
  • Woke Up Lonely, Fiona Maazel, 352 pages. Glad to be done with this one. Ok, technically, I didn’t finish it (I got all the way to page 210 before I decided I couldn’t take anymore). I thought it started out nicely, with a good premise, but it really fizzled out and became way too convoluted with details about the government officials and Helix complications. I didn’t like any of the characters, anyway, so I decided to DNF this one because life’s too short to be unhappy while reading. 2/5 stars and not worth the struggle of a book review. Here’s where my recent readage gets really good, are you ready for it?! And…recent readage
  • Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone (Harry Potter #1), J.K. Rowling, 310 pages (I read the Large Print version with 422 pages). Review to follow this post sometime today, as I’m still in shock that I finished a book so quickly, not to mention a book I’ve waited almost 18 years to REALLY read! I won’t spill too much here, look for book review on this one because it’s been a blast to read (on audiobook with Jim Dale’s narration, no less. What a treat!)

library loot

Good stuff, and I’ll see you soon with a book review of Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone!

Kisses and Pages,

sig4

Leave a Reply

