books · currently reading · fiction · in progress · library loot · short stories · stacks · TBR · traffic thursdays · updates

Traffic Thursdays

Hey everyone! Have you all made it through the week with me? (I get through my Thursdays on the simple realization that they are wonderful preludes to Fridays.)

This week has me running around like a chicken without a head, but desperately searching for it! School has started and has left precious little time for anything besides attending classes, studying, eating and sleeping. Once again, my personal reading has taken a backseat to the realities of my life as a student. After this next month I do plan to be a little more relaxed, as that’s when I will finish two of my courses.

As far as my pleasure reading goes, I’ve done a little better than I give myself credit for, but still haven’t hit my stride. I knocked off a short story or two, made significant progress with a book or two, and even made time several nights to listen to my beloved Book Riot podcasts. (I love listening to them before falling asleep, by the way). Most of my readage these next few weeks will revolve around course-related material, but I have a nice long weekend coming up so maybe that will be my much-needed catalyst for knocking off some more pages.

  • The Girl on the Train, Paula Hawkins, 336 pages, Genre(s): mystery/thriller, Interest Level: 8/10, now that it’s finally coming together and getting a little more interesting, Hope to Finish: tonight or tomorrow morning, Notes: it’s speeding right along now that I’m getting to the conclusion, and I’m glad I’m almost done. (By the way, I don’t like saying that when it comes to books!)
  • World War Z: An Oral History of the Zombie War, Max Brooks, 342 pages, Genre(s): action/adventure, horror, thriller, Interest Level: 7-8/10, it’s my Long Distance Book Buddy Read at the moment so the fiance and I are reading it together; it’s an old favorite of his but my first time; I enjoy the grisly descriptions in spite of myself, Hope to Finish: in fictionthe next week or two, depending on the fiance’s progress, Notes: I think this book is going to lead me into zombie territory in the future, and yes it’s hard to believe I’m actually saying that!
  • I Know This Much Is True, Wally Lamb, 897 pages, Genre(s): drama, Interest Level: 7/10, it opened with a bang, so there’s that; I like to savor Wally Lamb’s fiction so it might take a while to make a dent in this large tome! Hope to Finish: It’s been on my shelves forever, which is unforgivable since I adore Wally Lamb’s writing! However, your guess is as good as mine as to when I’ll be done with it! At my rate, let’s hope for 2017! (jk jk)
  • Read short story “Dad Thing” by Jonathan Durbin (via Electric Literature) on 5/4recent readage
  • Read short story “We Can Get Them For You Wholesale” by Neil Gaiman (via the Internet and my fiance’s recommendation) on 5/4
  • Read short story “Signs and Symbols” by Vladimir Nabokov (via the Internet)
    • No short stories in-progress at the moment but I really do enjoy them! They’re perfect when I can’t commit as much time as a novel demands, and sometimes a bite is all I need.

tbr

library loot

Ok lovelies, I have to run. See you tomorrow for a new Frilly-Female Fridays!

Kisses and books,

sig4

Leave a Reply

