books · currently reading · fiction · in progress · library loot · non-fiction · short stories · stacks · TBR · traffic thursdays · updates

Traffic Thursdays

Hey guys and gals!

Damn, the weeks fly by fast! It’s time for another Traffic Thursdays. I have to admit I haven’t made much progress since last week (school and all…but I promise that’s not an excuse!) I’m still getting into this daily blogging groove and believe me, it’s kicking my ass on a daily basis! DISCLAIMER: If you continue reading you’re going to get a chunk of an update here. I apologize because little of this post is going to actually pertain to reading and books; it’s mostly a “poor me” post about how life-changing this blogging thing is turning out to be! Which is ok, by the way! 🙂

I have realized that in order to become successfully proficient at this blogging thing, I must learn to change many habits about myself. The first being: I need to get to bed much earlier and get up to blog early in the morning. It’s how I need to start my days from now on, (I’m not very big on the whole structure thing) even though this is going to be very hard for me as a night owl. This means I need to quit my afternoon napping so I’m actually ready for bed at a decent time at night. (And I love my afternoon naps; strangely, I sleep as well during the day as I do at night!) So that’s that…and that sucks.

Also, I’m entering the final stretch of my spring semester and having a rough time with math (as usual) so that’s that…and that sucks as well. I’m entering finals week, which as we all know is the Week From Hell. I’m way behind on my pleasure reading but I’m trying to pretend otherwise by being on here as often as possible. I am also trying to cut back on coffee consumption (as I sip my late-night coffee) so that’s…obviously NOT working. Haha…laugh or cry, right?

I’m listening to John Coltrane Radio on Pandora as I type this, trying to clear my head in order to manage the many events occurring in the next several days:

  • Saturday’s Dewey’s 24-hour Read-a-thon (yikes, I looked at the spreadsheets the moderators sent and I’m overwhelmed! I’m asking my Goodreads.com group what I’m supposed to do exactly, because I really have no clue. What an adventure it’s going to be! Of course the printer broke when I needed to print out the information, but it’s hopefully not a sign of things to come…)
  • next Wednesday’s math test (which is just going to kill me, or give me a much-deserved stomach ulcer)
  • AgCom portfolio which has no due date but still needs to get done (procrastination station…)
  • other miscellaneous shit…like not losing my mind. (Question: how does anyone work, go to school, have a personal/social life, AND have their own chill time? Don’t even throw in being a parent because that’s an added Superhuman power!)

Anyway, please bear with me while I rant and rave and generally muss it up. Here’s what’s on the table right now as I freak out at the impossibilities…(can I get this post wrapped up before midnight so it’s still technically a Thursday?!) Just the highlights this week, because not a lot has changed since last week.

  • The Raising, Laura Kasischke, 461 pages, Genre(s): Mystery/Thriller, Interest Level: fiction5/10, Hope to finish: In the next two weeks, Notes: Still not completely immersed in the book, I assume because I don’t care for any of the characters.
  • Untouchable: The Strange Life and Tragic Death of nonfiction
    Michael Jackson
    , Randall Sullivan, 704 pages, Genre(s): Biography/Entertainment, Interest Level: 7/10, Hope to
    finish: In the next few months, Notes: Really fascinated by this one, more so than I thought I would be.
    short stories
  • Dad Thing” by Jonathan Durbin (via Electric Literature’s Recommended Reading feature) I hope to start this sometime this weekend, maybe during the Read-a-thon when I need a break from a physical book. (It’s nice to know I’ll be getting a FREE short story in my Inbox every week like clockwork and hopefully it drives me to read with a quicker pace so I won’t get further bogged down).

recent readage

  • “We Are The Olfanauts” by Deji Bryce Olukotun. Good story, by the way, slightly Palahniuk-style in my opinion, futuristic writing; a story I felt could have been fleshed out a little more into a novella even.

Forgive me for running so late on this post! Old habits and all! Happy Friday everyone and you’ll hear a bunch from me before and after Dewey’s on Saturday! Woo hoo!

Good night,

sig

Leave a Reply

