books · currently reading · fiction · in progress · library loot · non-fiction · short stories · stacks · TBR · traffic thursdays · updates

Traffic Thursdays

Hello bookish ladies and gents!

In my ongoing effort to be a more responsible bloggess, I’m hopping on WordPress daily to catch up on my news feed slogging and update on my reading life. If I find myself slacking off again too regularly, I will have to devise some form of punishment for myself. [I’m thinking…locking up all my books and not having access to them for a day or two! Nah, that’s too severe!] 🙂 Anywho, I am trying to come up with some new weekly features for the blog to increase my motivation to post and update. Tonight I decided on “Traffic Thursdays” for the time being. Basically, it’s a breakdown of what I’ve been reading/not reading, (since I’m in school and have to manage my reading time very carefully), liking/disliking, the reasons behind my reading certain things or not, etc over the week. It’s a dissection of my reading habits and tendencies, and hopefully will serve to catapult my ass into quicker, steadier reading! (Title links will direct you to Goodreads.com).

fiction

  • The Girl on the TrainPaula Hawkins, 336 pages, Genre(s): Mystery/Thriller, Interest Level: 4/10, Hope to finish: In the next month, Notes: Not living up to the hype for me, especially because I don’t like Rachel or any of the other characters.
  • The Raising, Laura Kasischke, 461 pages, Genre(s): Mystery/Thriller, Interest Level: 5/10, Hope to finish: In the next two weeks, Notes: Still not completely immersed in the book, I assume because I don’t care for any of the characters.
  • Revival, Stephen King, 405 pages, Genre(s): Mystery/Thriller, Interest Level: 5/10, Hope to finish: In the next two months, Notes: I’m usually WAY more interested in Stephen King than I am with this one! (The last King novel I read was: Mr. Mercedes and I swept through it pretty quickly).

nonfiction

  • Yes Please, Amy Poehler, 329 pages, Genre(s): Humor/Memoir, Interest Level: 4/10, Hope to finish: In the next month or so, Notes: My interest held for a little while but has faded since I first checked this book out; no real reason because I laugh at Poehler’s insanity while reading; maybe it’s just not where I am mentally at the moment.
  • Untouchable: The Strange Life and Tragic Death of Michael Jackson, Randall Sullivan, 704 pages, Genre(s): Biography/Entertainment, Interest Level: 7/10, Hope to finish: In the next few months, Notes: Really fascinated by this one, more so than I thought I would be.
  • The Five Love Languages: How to Express Heartfelt Commitment to Your Mate, Gary Chapman, 208 pages, Genre(s): Self-Help/Relationships, Interest Level: 6/10, Hope to finish: In the next two weeks or so, Notes: I’m already a few chapters into this one, and I am enjoying it and learning much.

short stories

* I signed up to receive a free short story in my email every week via Electric Literature‘s Recommended Reading feature. Check out their site to preview this week’s story and sign up for some FREE short fiction! This first week, it’s a rather interesting story recommended by Bryan Hurt for OR Books called “We Are The Olfanauts” by Deji Bryce Olukotun.

recent readage

tbr

library loot

Ok, so that’s an exhaustive list for this Thursday and it’s pretty clear that I need to get back to reading…or, since it’s actually 12:13 AM, sleeping! Tell me what you’re reading and loving (or not loving) in the comments section below! Please, I really want to know!

Until next time!

forever between pagessig5

Leave a Reply

